The 10 per cent quota for economically weaker sections (EWS) announced by the central government has been in news for quite some time. However, students passing out from class 12 to take note that the following eight institutions of excellence will be exempted from this 10 percent quota

  • Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai, and its constituent units
  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research – Mumbai
  • North – East Indira Gandhi Regional Institute of Health and Medical Science – Shillong
  • National Brain Research Centre – Gurugram
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research – Bengaluru
  • Physical Research Laboratory – Ahmedabad
  • Space Physics Laboratory – Thiruvananthapuram
  • Indian Institute of Remote Sensing – Dehradun

As per the order from the HRD Ministry, all other central universities and colleges will have to implement the quota from the 2019-20 academic session and shall declare on their official websites the revised number of seats after incorporating the ruling by 31st March.